The Gmail feature 6 years in the making. The feature that could save our job, our love life, or some form of embarrassment, is now a reality. Gmail’s new feature that can allow us to undo email is in effect in your Gmail and it works like a charm.
Now, this comes as a savior for many of us, as there have been instances when we might have to say, sent a love message (that was meant for your love mate) to your day jobs boss.
You might have even committed the gaucherie of letting out some sort of sensitive or the most private information to a wrong recipient. It could have saved you your name. A few days back, you would have to do anything to be able to take back that wrong email you sent. You wouldn’t have missed that opportunity for the world.
HOW THINGS WERE BEFORE UNDO EMAIL FEATURE ARRIVED
Only last year, Goldman Sachs company fell prey to this inability or quirk in Gmail’s email system, so much so that it had to get a court order to undo email (full of top secret banking information) that is sent to a wrong person.
A court order! We can only imagine how unsettling the whole scenario was.
UNDO EMAIL FEATURE COME OUT AFTER 6 LONG YEARS
Gmail’s undo feature was a test subject that has remained in Gmail Beta, or as Google likes to call it “Labs”, for 6 years. Wonder what took them so long.
HOW TO UNDO EMAIL AFTER SENDING IT
- Hit the gear icon present at the top right corner of your Gmail home page.
- Select Settings from the drop down menu.
- In the General tab, scroll down and you’ll find an option Undo Send
- Hit the Save changes button at the bottom of that page
Once you hit Undo Send, you will be prompted to select the cancellation period.
Cancellation period is the amount of time you want to be able to undo a sent email.
You can enable up to cancellation time up to 30 seconds.
Meaning, once 30 seconds pass post sending an email, you cannot undo email/ take it back/ cancel it, however, you want to call it.
HOW THINGS APPEAR ONCE YOU ENABLE UNDO EMAIL OPTION
Once you are all set and done with setting on the Undo Email option from the settings menu, here’s how you can exercise that power in the scenario where you send a wrong email or to a wrong recipient.
Whenever you send an Email, a yellow color box appears at the top showing the words, “Your message has been sent”.
Next to that small box would be the option to undo email.
Now this yellow color box and the undo email option next to it will only appear on the screen for as long as you set the cancellation period.
If you set the cancellation window for 10 seconds, the yellow color box that enables you to cancel/take back the email you sent moments ago, will appear on the screen for 10 seconds. This time can be extended up to 30 seconds from the settings menu. That simple.